top of page
  • Writer's pictureMrs G

My advice to an ECT...

As I prepare to enter my nineteenth year as a classroom teacher, I scroll through posts on social media from Early Career Teachers who are eager to set up their classrooms, back their display boards and buy countless things they don’t need in order to be ready for their first class in September. Almost two decades in and I am no different! My latest purchase of a heavy-duty hole punch is due to arrive today as I can’t wait to become a ‘glue-less classroom’ this year! My passion for teaching is unchanged, even though teaching twenty years on has changed massively and I despair at those who comment on posts saying ‘don’t do it’ or ‘I’m glad I got out’. Teaching is a vocation and there are still teachers out there who love going to work every day – my wonderful colleagues to name just a few. Yes, teaching is tough. Yes, teaching isn’t for everyone. Yes, we all have days where we are stressed and worried and have no idea how to fit it all in. But the good times outweigh the bad and the impact you have on the children you teach lasts a life time. At the end of the summer term, I was visited by a past pupil of mine who had just been made ‘Head Boy’ at his secondary school. The appreciation he showed to me as his teacher literally brought a tear to my eye and spurred me on to the end of the school year. It really is all worth it.

So what is it that keeps me going?


1. Don’t listen to negative people! Scroll past the comments saying ‘Don’t do it’ or ‘I wouldn’t bother’. There will always be those who are negative and try to bring you down. Surround yourself with positive people, follow those that inspire you on Twitter and join groups on Facebook that will build you up not bring you down.


2. Learn to manage your time well. There are only so many hours in a day and trust me, as a teacher, you will fill every single one of them with work if you’re not careful. There has to be a balance and you need to take time for yourself. As a busy professional, you need to do something that allows you to switch off. For me, it’s making sure I go for a walk every day and I spend time with my family in the evenings. Managing your time well means staying organised so make lists and plan out your day. Invest in a good quality planner and remember, you will always have something to do and that’s OK.


3. Go to the staffroom! The staffroom is the place to build professional relationships. I see far too many teachers who work through the entirety of their lunch hour and eat at their desks. Yes, I have done this too but remember, there will always be something to do! Try to find at least 15 mins to sit in the staffroom and talk to your colleagues. It’s amazing how many tips you’ll pick up from your peers and how reassured you’ll feel when they openly admit that they’ve just had, ‘one of those lessons’ where they were glad no-one was watching!


4. Ask for help. Even now, twenty years in, I still ask my colleagues for help. Only the other week, I ran up to our Maths Lead to ask her how to tackle a tricky maths problem. There is no shame in admitting that you’re stuck or that you don’t know the best way to approach something.


5. Stay informed. Research based practice is the way forward and I wish this was the case when I was an NQT many moons ago. There is so much out there now with regards to marking, feedback and high quality teaching and it is important to keep up to date with what truly works. Try to avoid ‘fads’ and don’t just jump on the bandwagon of everything you come across. Make sure that whatever you implement in your classroom is proven to have impact. The EEF (Education Endowment Foundation) is a great place to start and focus on your classroom and your children first and foremost.


6. Find your passion! For me it’s English and in particular reading. I’m always looking for ways to improve standards in my classroom and now, as a leader, across the whole school. It is really important that you find your passion and strive for what you love the most.


7. Mix it up. Change is good! Year upon year I re-plan, find new texts to read, improve and try new things. Yes, sometimes they don’t have the desired effect I’m truly after, but at least I gave it a go and made things that little bit more exciting. I work alongside three other year six teachers and although we share the planning, we all do things a little bit differently in our classrooms. We aren’t robots and we will only do our best if we are passionate about what we are teaching. Find the book that inspires you or the investigation that you can’t wait to teach. If you’re a bored teacher, the chances are your children will be bored too.


8. And finally – enjoy it. Focus on the positives no matter how small they may be and remember, we do it for the children. Make them your priority and celebrate the wins. There will be plenty of them I assure you.


Mrs G.



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Logo.png
Logo.png
bottom of page